SSN on Facebook SSN on Twitter SSN on YouTube RSS Feed

Florida's 2014 Teacher of the Year will be Named Thursday

The Florida Department of Education will name the 2014 Macy's Teacher of the Year on Thursday in Orlando.

For 25 years, Macys has honored the most exceptional educators across Florida. Five teachers became finalists for the 2014 Teacher of the Year award and were chosen from 180,000 public school teachers from across the state:

Nancy Smith, Citrus High School (Citrus County).
Apryl Shackelford, Northwestern Middle School (Duval County).
Patricia Gair, Cypress Lake High School (Lee County).
Dorina Sackman, Westridge Middle School (Orange County).
Katrin Rudge, Riverview High School (Sarasota County).

Macy's sponsors and holds the ceremony, where the remaining 67 nominees from around the state will be recognized for their achievements and excellence in teaching. Each of the nominees will be presented with a $750 personal cash award and a $250 grant for their school, funded by the Macys Foundation.

In addition to the $10,000 grant funded by the Macys Foundation, the Teacher of the Year will receive awards from Macys including an all-expenses paid trip for four to New York City to attend the Macys Thanksgiving Day Parade. The winner of the award will also serve for one year as the Christa McAuliffe Ambassador for Education, touring the state to spread the word about educational opportunities and challenges in Florida.

'Floridas Teacher of the Year finalists are shining examples of the many remarkable, dedicated educators throughout our state, said Commissioner of Education Dr. Tony Bennett. By listening to teachers and advocating on their behalf, Governor Rick Scott realizes there is no work more critical to our states future than that of an exceptional and inspiring teacher. On behalf of Governor Scott and everyone at our department, I congratulate each finalist and share our thanks for their leadership and commitment to Floridas students.

Comments are now closed.



Live streaming of WBOB Talk Radio, a Sunshine State News Radio Partner.