Rick Scott Announces Citizen Safety Task Force Members

Gov. Rick Scott, Lt. Gov. Jennifer Carroll, and the Rev. R. B. Holmes Jr., pastor of the Bethel Missionary Baptist Church in Tallahassee, announced Thursday the 17 members of the Task Force on Citizen Safety and Protection.

The task force, which will have its first meeting May 1 in Tallahassee, was formed in reaction to the Feb. 26 shooting in Sanford of Trayvon Martin.

The task force will be reviewing the state’s Stand Your Ground rule, likely to be used as a defense in the shooting, as well as other parts of other laws, rules, regulations or programs that relate to public safety and citizen protection.

The members are:

Okaloosa County Sheriff Larry Ashley of Shalimar.

State Rep. Dennis Baxley of Ocala.

Former Florida Supreme Court Justice Kenneth B. Bell of Pensacola.

State Rep. Jason Brodeur of Sanford.

Attorney Derek E. Bruce of Orlando.

Attorney Joseph A. Caimano Jr. of Tampa.

Edna Canino, of Miami, president of the Florida Embassy of League of United Latin American Citizens, Council 7220.

Gretchen Lorenzo of Fort Myers, neighborhood watch coordinator.

Judge Krista Marx of West Palm Beach.

Maria Newman of Melbourne, neighborhood watch volunteer.

State attorney Katherine Fernandez Rundle of Miami.

Stacy A. Scott of Gainesville, assistant public defender.

Attorney Mark Seiden of Miami.

State Sen. David Simmons of Altamonte Springs.

State Sen. Gary Siplin of Orlando.

Add a Comment

Comments (0)

Leave a Comment on This Story

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.