SSN on Facebook SSN on Twitter SSN on YouTube RSS Feed


Carlos Curbelo, Stephanie Murphy Lead the Charge Against Cutting Funds to Holocaust Museum

June 12, 2017 - 10:00am
Carlos Curbelo and Stephanie Murphy
Carlos Curbelo and Stephanie Murphy

Two members of the Florida delegation are leading the charge on Capitol Hill to stop proposed cuts to the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum.

With President Donald Trump’s budget proposal reducing federal funding to the museum from $57 million to $54 million, two members of the Florida delegation--Republican Carlos Curbelo and Democrat Stephanie Murphy--joined up with U.S. Reps. John Katko, R-NY, and Kyrsten Sinema, D-Ariz., in rounding up members of Congress to sign a letter opposing the cuts. 

More than 60 members of the U.S. House signed the letter to U.S. Rep. Ken Calvert, R-Calif., the chairman of the U.S. House Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee, and U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum, D-Minn., the ranking Democrat on that subcommittee, urging them to reject Trump’s proposal. 

On Friday, Murphy made the case against the cuts. 

“The U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum is a national treasure that provides an indispensable service to the public and it should be fully supported,” Murphy said. “The museum honors the memories of Holocaust victims and educates the public on the history of the Holocaust so that we never forget the genocide committed against the Jewish people and other victims of the Nazis. The mission of the museum has never been more important, particularly as the number of anti-Semitic attacks around the world rises. Both Democrats and Republicans understand the significance of this proposed cut, and I look forward to working with both sides to secure full funding for the museum.” 

“As the number of anti-Semitic attacks around the world rise, the mission of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum has never been more important,”  Curbelo insisted on Saturday. “Proud to join U.S. Congresswoman Stephanie Murphy, Congressman John Katko and Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema to advocate for the museum and its mission.”

Curbelo was the only Republican from the Sunshine State to sign the letter. Eight Florida Democrats in the House--Charlie Crist, Ted Deutch, Lois Frankel, Alcee Hastings, Al Lawson, Darren Soto, Debbie Wasserman Schultz and Frederica Wilson--signed the letter.



Matt Gaetz Reels in Funds for Northwest Florida Airports

Special Session Produced Corporate Welfare Lite

Comments are now closed.



Live streaming of WBOB Talk Radio, a Sunshine State News Radio Partner.