House Democrats Set Up 2013-2014 Leadership with Mia Jones as Pro Tempore

By: Jim Turner | Posted: November 15, 2012 8:30 AM

Mia Jones
State House Democratic Leader Perry Thurston, D-Fort Lauderdale, has nominated Rep. Mia Jones, D-Jacksonville, as Democratic Leader Pro Tempore as he rounds out his leadership team for the 2013-2014 sessions.

Jim Waldman
Jones, the legislative Black Caucus chair, is a special assistant to Jacksonville Mayor Alvin Brown. She was first elected to the House in 2008.

Other leadership roles named Wednesday by Thurston:

Rep. Jim Waldman, D-Coconut Creek, is to be Democratic floor leader.

Mark Pafford
Rep. Mark Pafford, D-West Palm Beach, Democratic policy chair.

Darryl Rouson

Rep. Darryl Rouson, D-Tampa, as Democratic policy adviser.

Alan Williams

Rep. Alan Williams, D-Tallahassee, Democratic whip.
Jones’ appointment is the only one subject to approval by the Democratic Caucus.

Thurston also announced plans to recommend that incoming House Speaker Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel, appoint Rep. Joe Gibbons, D-Pembroke Pines, to be the ranking member of the House Appropriations Committee and Rep. Janet Cruz, D-Tampa, as the ranking member of the Ethics and Elections Subcommittee.

Reach Jim Turner at jturner@sunshinestatenews.com or at (772) 215-9889.

Comments (0)

Leave a Comment on This Story

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.